Even if Google didn't provide this feature to their users (and it is a feature that I regularly use to track who leaks my email address and then auto block emails to that address), Netflix's approach of sending sensitive emails without verifying the email address is still prone to security problems. Many people have multiple email accounts, or aren't really aware which email account they used to sign up. Sending a "please update your billing info" without verifying the email account first is purely on Netflix.
Even if Google didn't provide this feature to their users (and it is a feature that I regularly use to track who leaks my email address and then auto block emails to that address), Netflix's approach of sending sensitive emails without verifying the email address is still prone to security problems. Many people have multiple email accounts, or aren't really aware which email account they used to sign up. Sending a "please update your billing info" without verifying the email account first is purely on Netflix.